NCS

Hey there πŸ™‚

I am sorry I haven’t blogged in a while, I have been kinda busy with a little thing called NCS.

I say little but It’s actually not little at all, NCS is probably one of the biggest things I’ve ever done. These past four weeks have been some of the best of my whole life and I would just like to take a moment to express how thankful I am to NCS for the wonderful experience πŸ™‚

If you don’t know what NCS is, it stands for the National Citizen Service and you can find out more about it here. NCS is 4 week summer programme for young people aged 16-17 to try and help teenagers connect with and help their local community. It’s a lot of hard work but I am very proud of what my group (Banterbury) have achieved. We have organized a summer fair, open mic night (Along with another group, Wildcats) and car washes in aid of our local Samaritans branch. Samaritans are a UK based charity aiming to give people someone to talk to and share their problems with when they need it the most. We chose them because we thought it would work well with our aim: To raise awareness of mental illness. Samaritans don’t treat people with mental illnesses any differently but that was the point really. People with mental illnesses want to be heard and listened to, not made to feel like outsiders. Samaritans provide a 24/7 call service and our money raised will go towards phone lines at Samaritans so that they can continue to help people with there problems and worries.

NCS was not all serious though, it was a lot of fun too. The first half was split into a week at a PGL adventure center and a week camping!Β PGL was great, it was a brilliant way to get to know people and I have so many fond memories from my time there. A lot of fears were faced there and I tried so many new things and super fun things including:Β  Tunnel trails, Trapeze, Rock Climbing, Raft building and so much more!

Camping was possibly even better, it was such a lovely atmosphere at the camp and we had great fun doing workshops and playing games and all sorts. Although our tent got kinda infested with spiders and earwigs at one point which wasn’t so good, and we also thought there was a hedgehog on the roof xD

Overall NCS has been absolutely fantastic! I would recommend it to anyone and even if your not 16 or 17 you can still volunteer as a NCS leader, so please if your in England go give it a try, I am almost 100% sure you won’t regret it πŸ™‚

Thank you to everyone who has made it so unforgettable ❀

ncs


Bye!

 

 

4 thoughts on “NCS

Leave a Reply

